

Call for Nominations

2024 Klung Wilhelmy Science Award for Chemistry at Freie Universität Berlin

The Klung Wilhelmy Science Award is presented each year by the Otto Klung Foundation at Freie Universität Berlin in cooperation with the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation. It is one of the most generous awards funded by private donors for young scientists in Germany (www.klung-wilhelmy-wissenschafts-preis.de). The selection committee welcomes nominations for the 2024 chemistry award. According to the award guidelines, nominees should not have exceeded the age of 40, must have German citizenship, and should be recognized for original and pioneering contributions to the field of chemistry.

The donors want to recognize the outstanding work being done by up-and-coming German researchers in the fields of chemistry and physics, alternating annually between the two scientific disciplines. Five award winners have gone on to later win Nobel Prizes, and others have received important national and international distinctions. The chemistry award winners over the last few years include Peter Seeberger (2004), Ingo Krossing (2006), Frank Neese (2008), Stefan Hecht (2010), Tobias Ritter (2012), Hans-Jakob Wörner (2014), Stephan A. Sieber (2016), Philipp Kukura (2018), Franziska Schoenebeck (2020), and Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner (2022).

The selection committee welcomes nominations for the 2024 chemistry award through **February 15**, **2024** preferably via email (<u>s.riedel@fu-berlin.de</u>). Nominations must include a detailed justification and a meaningful curriculum vitae of the proposed person. This should highlight the original and pioneering contributions to the field of chemistry.

Selection committee Klung Wilhelmy Science Award Prof. Dr. Sebastian Hasenstab-Riedel Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry Freie Universität Berlin Fabeckstr. 34/36 14195 Berlin

Email: s.riedel@fu-berlin.de