Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Klung Wilhelmy Science Award in Chemistry 2020

Franziska Schoenebeck

Franziska Schoenebeck
Image Credit: privat

The Klung Wilhelmy Science Award in Chemistry honors Prof. Dr. Franziska Schoenebeck (RWTH Aachen University) for her pioneering research in the fields of organic synthesis, catalysis, and computational elucidation of reaction mechanisms.

  • Date: Thursday, June 24, 2021
  • Time: 5.30 pm s.t.
  • The event will take place online.
  • The Ceremony will be held in German without translation. Please register here.

Franziska Schoenebeck has been a Full Professor and Chair at the Institute of Organic Chemistry at RWTH Aachen University since the summer of 2016. Professor Schoenebeck was born and raised in Berlin, Germany. From 2001-2004, she studied Chemistry at the Technical University of Berlin and the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, UK. She undertook her PhD in synthetic organic chemistry in the group of Prof. John A. Murphy in Glasgow, Uk. In 2008 she moved to California to work with Prof. K. N. Houk at UCLA, where she was involved in computational studies of organic reactivity. In 2010, she joined the faculty of the ETH Zürich as an Assistant Professor. In 2013, she was appointed Associate Professor at the Institute of Organic Chemistry at RWTH Aachen University and promoted to Full Professor in 2016. She is the recipient of the Novartis Chemistry Lectureship (2016-2017), an ERC Starting and ERC Consolidator Grant, the 2014 'Dozentenpreis' of the German Chemical Industry Fund, the 2014 ORCHEM Prize by the German Chemical Society, the 2014 Marcial Moreno Lectureship by the Spanish Royal Chemistry Society, the 2014 JPOC Award for Early Excellence in Physical Organic Chemistry and the ADUC Prize 2012. Her research program is based at the interface of synthetic organic, mechanistic and computational chemistry with a strong emphasis in homogeneous metal catalysis.

Klung Wilhelmy Science Award

The Klung Wilhelmy Science Award,
1973 to 2001 Otto-Klung-Award,
2001 to 2007 Otto-Klung-Weberbank-Award,
2007 to 2013 Klung-Wilhelmy-Weberbank-Award,
is an annual German science award, alternating annually between the fields of chemistry and physics.

The Klung Wilhelmy Science Award is presented under the patronage of the German Federal Minister of Education and Research, Anja Karliczek.