Springe direkt zu Inhalt

2022 Klung Wilhelmy Science Award for Chemistry:

The Klung Wilhelmy Science Award is presented each year by the Otto Klung Foundation at Freie Universität Berlin in cooperation with the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation. It is one of the most generous awards funded by private donors for young scientists in Germany.

The donors want to recognize the outstanding work being done by up-and-coming German researchers in the fields of chemistry and physics, alternating annually between the two scientific disciplines. Five award winners have gone on to later win Nobel Prizes, and others have received important national and international distinctions. The chemistry award winners over the last few years include Peter Seeberger (2004), Ingo Krossing (2006), Frank Neese (2008), Stefan Hecht (2010), Tobias Ritter (2012), Hans-Jakob Wörner (2014), Stephan A. Sieber (2016), Philipp Kukura (2018), and Franziska Schoenebeck (2020).

The selection committee welcomes nominations for the 2022 chemistry award through February 1, 2022. According to the award guidelines, nominees should not have exceeded the age of 40, must have German citizenship, and should be recognized for original and pioneering contributions to the field of chemistry.

For more information about the award or to submit nominations, please contact:

Prof. Dr. Eckart Rühl
Institute of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Freie Universität Berlin
Arnimallee 22
14195 Berlin