The Founders

Otto Klung and the Otto Klung Foundation

In 1925, Otto Klung (1893–1968) moved to Berlin and purchased a cinema in Berlin-Lichterfelde. He then opened a shop for radio receivers and vinyl records in 1928 at Tauentzienstraße in Berlin-Charlottenburg. His company TELEVOX was hence active in an industry that saw a particularly strong upturn in the 1920s and 1930s. This economic success was the basis for his assets, which were further increased through a targeted investment strategy in cinemas after 1945.

Otto Klung lived in Berlin until his death. The trained mechanical engineer and graduated engineer regretted not to have studied at a university as he felt he was therefore lacking the possibility to shape advancement in science and society more actively. Since he did not have any children, he bequeathed part of his assets to the newly founded Otto Klung Foundation for the promotion of outstanding younger chemists and physicists.

Dr. Wilhelmy and the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation

The Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation was founded in 2007 with its primary objective being to sustain the endowment of the Klung Wilhlemy Weberbank Award, as it was called at that time. The conferral of the award was intended to give public recognition to the scientific elite.

Dr.-Ing. Lothar Wilhelmy, born in 1940 in Kiel, Germany, studied electrical engineering and received his doctorate in Stuttgart. In 1972, he took on leading positions in medium-sized companies in Berlin. From 1983 until his retirement in 2006, he was chairman of the board at Hübner Elektromaschinen AG, today called BaumerHübner GmbH. Under the slogan "precision + innovation" Hübner-Berlin achieved the position of a worldwide-leading manufacturer of speed sensors in heavy-duty technology for drive technology. "Precision" is more than just quality and "innovation" is more than just (further) development. Together, they demand outstanding performance and breaking of new ground. These are characteristics that also apply to fundamental science.

Die Stifter

Otto Klung und die Otto-Klung-Stiftung

Otto Klung (1893–1968) kam 1925 nach Berlin und erwarb ein Lichtspieltheater in Berlin-Lichterfelde. 1928 eröffnete er ein Geschäft für Rundfunkgeräte und Schallplatten in der Tauentzienstraße. Seine Firma TELEVOX war damit in den Branchen tätig, die in den 20er und 30er Jahren einen besonders starken Aufschwung erleben sollten. Der wirtschaftliche Erfolg war die Basis für Klungs Vermögen, das er nach 1945 durch eine gezielte Anlagestrategie in Lichtspieltheater vermehren konnte.

Otto Klung lebte bis zu seinem Tod in Berlin. Der gelernte Maschinenbauer und graduierte Ingenieur Klung hatte es mehrfach bedauert, wegen eines fehlenden Universitätsstudiums den Fortschritt in Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft nicht aktiver mitgestaltet zu haben. Da seine Ehe kinderlos blieb, hinterließ er einen Teil seines Vermögens der mit dem Vermächtnis gegründeten Otto-Klung-Stiftung zur Förderung herausragender junger Chemiker und Physiker.

Dr. Wilhelmy und die Dr. Wilhelmy-Stiftung

Die Dr. Wilhelmy-Stiftung wurde 2007 mit dem vorrangigen Ziel ins Leben gerufen, die Dotierung des damaligen „Klung-Wilhelmy-Weberbank-Preises” nachhaltig zu unterstützen. Der wissenschaftlichen Elite soll durch die Zuerkennung des Preises öffentliche Anerkennung zuteil werden.
Dr.-Ing. Lothar Wilhelmy, 1940 in Kiel geboren, absolvierte Abitur und Studium der Elektrotechnik mit anschließender Promotion in Stuttgart. 1972 übernahm er Führungspositionen bei mittelständischen Unternehmen in Berlin. Von 1983 bis zu seinem Ruhestand 2006 hatte er den Vorstand der Hübner Elektromaschinen AG, heute BaumerHübner GmbH, inne. Mit dem Motto „Präzision + Innovation” hat sich „Hübner-Berlin” die Position eines weltweit führenden Herstellers von Drehzahl-Sensoren in Heavy-Duty-Technologie für die Antriebstechnik erarbeitet. „Präzision” bedeutet dabei mehr als Qualität, „Innovation” mehr als (Weiter-)Entwicklung: es fordert zu Spitzenleistungen und zum Beschreiten neuer Wege auf – Eigenschaften, die gleichermaßen auf die Grundlagenwissenschaften zutreffen.